December 15, 2012

2012 SSCP Dissertation Award Winners Announced

From SSCP President Richard Heimberg:
 It is my honor to announce the winners of the 2012 SSCP Dissertation Award. We received 26 applications this year. It was truly an impressive set of dissertation projects, and a very difficult decision for the Committee.  

The winners (in alphabetical order) are:
 1.     Dylan G. Gee, University of California, Los Angeles (Advisor: Tyrone D. Cannon). Amygdala-Prefrontal Function and Clinical Course among Adolescents and Young Adults at Clinical High Risk for Psychosis
2.     Evan Kleiman, George Mason University (Advisor: John H. Riskind). The stress generation theory explains unanswered questions in suicide research: An integrated transactional diathesis-stress model of suicide
3.   Jessica Ribeiro, Florida State University (Advisor: Thomas Joiner). Acute Over-Arousal and the Acquired Capability for Suicide: Understanding Acute Suicide Risk through the Lens of the Interpersonal Theory of Suicide
4.     Donald J. Robinaugh, Harvard University (Advisor: Richard J. McNally). Constructive Episodic Simulation of Future Events in Bereaved Adults With and Without Complicated Grief
The winners will receive:
·       A check for $500
·       An invitation to publish their abstract in an upcoming issue of Clinical Science
 A special thank you to the SSCP Dissertation Award Committee for their time and thoughtful attention to this important decision:
·       Dr. Peter Norton, Committee Chair
·       Dr. Courtney Beard
·       Dr. Trevor Hart
·      Dr. David DiLillo
·      Angela Smith, Student Representative to the Committee.
SSCP members can look forward to a new generation of very strong clinical scientists conducting methodologically sound and clinically important work. Congratulations to all. 
Happy holidays,
Rick Heimberg, PhD
President, SSCP 2012

No comments:

Post a Comment